A quick trip & report

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
JRPfeff
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 2765
2013/01/26 10:14:22 (permalink)

A quick trip & report

I started a new job in North Carolina last Monday. I work as a contract engineer in the nuclear industry, so jobs ending and starting at locations far & wide is part of my way of life.  The term of endearment used for people in this profession is Roadwh0res (hopefully that gets through the bad word filter).  There is even a website by that name that posts job opportunities.  The new job has an expected duration of 5 years, so this is as close to a permanent position as I expect to ever see.

Pie Diva and I took a quick trip to reposition a car from Arizona to NC over the weekend before I started.  We did not have a lot of time, but we planned at least one stop each day around a Roadfood reviewed restaurant.

Day 1 - Buckeye, AZ to Las Cruces, NM

This will probably be our last chance to visit Tuscon before we pack the house and move, so we took an opportunity to stop at one of our favorite restaurants there.

I had a JoJo (Chipotle Beef and Cheese in Jalapeño Masa) and a Santa Fe (Pork Loin, Green Chile Sauce and Cheese).  Bobbi has a pair of San Carlos (Shrimp, Roasted Corn, Tomato, Cilantro in Red Pepper Masa).  They were all outstanding.

We will miss the food of Tuscon, but not the traffic.  The last three times we visited there were major SNAFU's with traffic.  A bike race shutting down seemingly every street, a gem show causing havoc throughout the city, and this time road construction barrels closing multiple lanes on every surface street we drove on.

Stay tuned for more of Day 1.
post edited by JRPfeff - 2013/01/26 10:54:18

37 Replies Related Threads

JRPfeff
    Filet Mignon
    Re:A quick trip & report 2013/01/26 10:49:19 (permalink)
    Day 1 - Buckeye, AZ to Las Cruces, NM (continued)