Alton Brown's Dry-Brined Spatchckocked Turkey

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
Pigiron
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1384
2012/11/20 10:17:43 (permalink)

Alton Brown's Dry-Brined Spatchckocked Turkey

This is my first attempt at a dry brine for poultry.  A.B. claims that it turns out similar to Peking Duck- moist meat with crisp skin.  I'm a little leery about leaving a raw 15 pound turkey in my fridge for 4 days, but it's all in the name of food science! I'll post after Thanksgiving with a report.

36 Replies Related Threads

brisketboy
    • Total Posts : 1117
    Re:Alton Brown's Dry-Brined Spatchckocked Turkey 2012/11/20 10:21:02 (permalink)
    This very thing was in yesterday's Food and Life section of the paper and we've been brining our turkeys for the last several years and this caught my attention so w're also going to attempt it.  That whole wet brine thing always resulted in a big mess.
    ScreamingChicken
    Sirloin
    • Total Posts : 5143
    Re:Alton Brown's Dry-Brined Spatchckocked Turkey 2012/11/20 10:54:24 (permalink)
    I did a dry brine last year and the turkey turned out very good - I think you'll both like the results.
    pnwchef
    • Total Posts : 2454
    Re:Alton Brown's Dry-Brined Spatchckocked Turkey 2012/11/20 12:12:29 (permalink)
    I'm not sure I buy the hype on a dry brine, I am sold on a wet brine for my chickens. The dry brine is put on the outside skin, how far would you think the salty dry brine would penetrate into the Turkey ???????The wet brine adds to the yield of the cooked bird, does the dry brine seal in the juices ?????? because it can't add moisture..........I wonder why this method wouldn't be perceived more as dry aging or drying out the turkey. You would think the salt would act in a method of drawing out moisture....................I never had a bad turkey at Thanksgiving, even when it was cooked by non cooks, of course, it helps having a good  homemade gravy..........pnwc
    Root-Beer Man