Any Fans of "Art's & Mary's Tater Chips"???

Author
ThrashATL
Hamburger
  • Total Posts : 75
  • Joined: 2005/09/28 18:57:00
  • Location: Dakota Dunes, SD
  • Status: offline
2008/12/01 11:11:31 (permalink)

Any Fans of "Art's & Mary's Tater Chips"???

Those of you in the Kansas & Missouri area probably know these crispy little kettle cooked buggers quite well. I could eat the Hot & Spicy Jalapeno chips everyday. I remember back in the 80's though, the company was under different ownership and the chips were kettle cooked in peanut oil but today are not. I'm thinking while they're still outstanding chips and worth buying, they were better in peanut oil only. I also remember snagging boxes of these chips in Kansas City to take to relatives abroad. You'd get this 22oz box that had 2 11oz clear plastic bags in it full of chips.

Anyone else love these? http://www.artsandmarys.com/



#1

3 Replies Related Threads

    zeebaneighba
    Hamburger
    • Total Posts : 78
    • Joined: 2007/12/15 09:12:00
    • Location: Emporia, KS
    • Status: offline
    RE: Any Fans of "Art's & Mary's Tater Chips"??? 2008/12/08 21:27:54 (permalink)
    Oh, yes, a fan here! I also remember them in the early to mid 1980's when they were called just "Art's Potato Chips" (guess Mary came along later...!) What I recall best is that at least in this area, they were the first kettle-cooked potato chips I had ever eaten. So good and different from the other chips.

    That pack looks like an interesting deal. I stick with the original ones, though -- still love those the best. Thanks for sharing!
    #2
    NYPIzzaNut
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 3151
    • Joined: 2008/03/08 11:02:00
    • Location: Sardinia, OH
    • Status: online
    RE: Any Fans of "Art's & Mary's Tater Chips"??? 2008/12/08 21:54:41 (permalink)
    I am not aware of this brand but the best ones I have ever had in my life are similar and are Poore Brothers Potato Chips. Meijer used to stock them in Cincinnati but no longer do so so we have to order them by mail from their website:

    http://www.inventuregroup.net/Poore-Brothers.asp
    #3
    ThrashATL
    Hamburger
    • Total Posts : 75
    • Joined: 2005/09/28 18:57:00
    • Location: Dakota Dunes, SD
    • Status: offline
    RE: Any Fans of "Art's & Mary's Tater Chips"??? 2008/12/08 21:58:05 (permalink)
    quote:
    Originally posted by NYPIzzaNut

    I am not aware of this brand but the best ones I have ever had in my life are similar and are Poore Brothers Potato Chips. Meijer used to stock them in Cincinnati but no longer do so so we have to order them by mail from their website:

    http://www.inventuregroup.net/Poore-Brothers.asp


    Another good brand if you can find them is Zapps Potato Chips (http://www.zapps.com) from the South... especially the "Cajun Crawtater" flavor!

    #4
    Jump to:
    © 2014 APG vNext Commercial Version 5.1