Anyone remember Smitty's in Hamilton, NY?

Author
HughYeman
Hamburger
  • Total Posts : 84
2005/02/24 11:33:26 (permalink)

Anyone remember Smitty's in Hamilton, NY?

As I do every so often I'm fondly recalling Smitty's, a little diner that used to live right next to the Pizza Hut just north of Hamilton, NY. The Smitty Burger, a 1/4 pound burger with swiss, bacon, and etc. was the best burger I'd ever had, and the curly fries were out of this world.

I don't recall exactly when it changed ownership and so was Smitty's no more, but I think it was around 1990 give or take a few years. Anyone remember it?

*Sigh*. I miss that place.

4 Replies Related Threads

hatteras04
    Double Chili Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 1083
    RE: Anyone remember Smitty's in Hamilton, NY? 2005/02/24 11:53:45 (permalink)
    If it changed hands it must have been after 1994 because that's when I graduated from Colgate. I ate my very first meal in Hamilton at Smitty's and I didn't find too many better meals than that one as I got the exact one you described - Smitty burger and curly fries. Are you a fellow Red Raider?

There were quite a few other good places to eat in and around Hamilton though none had a burger better than Smitty's.
    HughYeman
    Hamburger
    RE: Anyone remember Smitty's in Hamilton, NY? 2005/02/24 12:09:41 (permalink)
    quote:
    Originally posted by hatteras04

If it changed hands it must have been after 1994 because that's when I graduated from Colgate.

Oh wow... that's weird. I was thinking it changed hands before I graduated from college in '92. I guess not.

quote:

I ate my very first meal in Hamilton at Smitty's and I didn't find too many better meals than that one as I got the exact one you described - Smitty burger and curly fries. Are you a fellow Red Raider?