BBQ Lore or BBQ BS

Author
brisketboy
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1151
2008/03/01 17:35:21 (permalink)

BBQ Lore or BBQ BS

After 20 some years in the Navy I thought I had heard all the bs the planet could muster up. Then I read this article whee this guy claims that the brisket from the left side of the animal tends to be more tender than the right because the cow lies in it's left side and therefor uses the muscles of the right side to get up. Thus making in tougher due to more use. The author even goes on to describe how to tell one side from the other. I'm no beginner at making a fool of myself but before I go looking for "left side briskets" I was wondering if anyone else had heard of this? I have been know to raise the bulls**t when I think I'm being had.

12 Replies Related Threads

BBq King
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 123
    RE: BBQ Lore or BBQ BS 2008/03/01 18:01:50 (permalink)
    You could use a bucket of steam to brine a right side brisket and make it as tender as a left side brisket.
    CajunKing
    Sirloin
    • Total Posts : 6559
    RE: BBQ Lore or BBQ BS 2008/03/01 18:51:29 (permalink)
    You my friend are being had.

Cows will lay down on either side (as the picture shows) as well as on it's haunches (neither side)

I grew up raising beef, and have NEVER heard of such a thing. I also have been BBQing professionally for over 15 yrs and notice no different from the left or the right side.

Yes you can tell by looking at the brisket which side it comes from, but you will never know which side that particular cow favored while laying down.

Stick to rubbing and slow cooking to make the meat tender.

Bones
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 3
    RE: BBQ Lore or BBQ BS 2008/03/02 00:24:33 (permalink)