California Food Truck Ansul System

Author
Inkys
Hamburger
  • Total Posts : 97
2012/02/22 03:18:22 (permalink)

California Food Truck Ansul System

I'm just beginning my build (brought the truck home last weekend). One item I'm not clear about is fire suppression systems. If they are being required in parts of California, I don't know by who or when they're required. I spoke with the local planning commission. They don't do any truck inspections. HD requires the health code stuff (sinks, water, etc) but not fire. It might be some cities or counties, but I can't seem to get a straight answer on the issue.
Is anyone operating a mobile unit in California and know who requires fire suppression?

This seems to go along with code inspections in general. I know Washington state is pretty rigorous and requires the same building codes on trucks as brick and mortar, but as far as I can tell, there are no code inspections in California for mobile units other than the health code.

Does any one have different information on this?
Thanks

14 Replies Related Threads

mofood
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 117
    Re:California Food Truck Ansul System 2012/02/22 11:07:16 (permalink)
    Check with local fire marshal. That is who will set this requirement.
    jenneti
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 9
    Re:California Food Truck Ansul System 2012/02/28 16:35:14 (permalink)
    It's a HUD requirement with the fire marshall recertifying every 6 months.
    DWags541
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 177
    Re:California Food Truck Ansul System 2012/02/28 19:07:15 (permalink)
    Only thing I know about CA rules are HD related. One that varies considerably from our local rules are the need for screens between patrons and kitchen and two windows at point of service.
    Luckily at the events I did in Cali, they weren't that hawkish about these issues and just focused on the fundamentals.