Cheese waffer type snacks

Author
Poot
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 2
2007/08/03 03:12:07 (permalink)

Cheese waffer type snacks

I'm a newbie and glad I found this site 'cause maybe someone here remembers this snack. The name has eluded me for years and is driving me nuts!!! I remember going with my mother to an A/P store (I was maybe 6 to 8 years old...ok, I'm 54 now) for groceries and if money was ok (rarely) she'd buy us this treat. It contained a thin layer of a spreadable type cheese sandwiched between two pieces of a textured waffle type material which tasted cheesy as well. They were round and flat, maybe 1/4 thick, and had a yellowish color all over. Seems they came in a tube sorta like todays Pringle's and were maybe the size of a silver dollar. Surely I'm not the only one who ate these but even my sister can't recall their name although she ate her share of them too. Any ideas what they were called and who made them? I did a search here for cheese snacks but nothing turned up.
Thanks in advance for the help!!!

5 Replies Related Threads

TerrierMom
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 108
    RE: Cheese waffer type snacks 2007/08/03 07:04:44 (permalink)
    Cheese Waffies, perhaps? http://www.hometownfavorites.com/shop/candy_cat.asp?c=28&p=1&id=362&newp=

Never seen 'em here in New England. But I have friends elsewhere in the USA who love them
    NYNM
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 3053
    RE: Cheese waffer type snacks 2007/08/03 15:41:49 (permalink)
    I remember them and love them. My favorite was a bleu cheese flavor. The cheddar is still avaiable, but seems a bit salty. (or my tastes have changed?).
    Vince Macek
    Double Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 863
    RE: Cheese waffer type snacks 2007/08/04 18:57:04 (permalink)
    Yeah, the cardboard tube was ideal packaging - they come in mylar bags now with plenty of breakage potential