LockedCincinnati Chili

Page: << < ..678910 Showing page 10 of 10
Author
NYPIzzaNut
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 3140
Re:Cincinnati Chili 2009/09/23 14:02:57 (permalink)
Russ Jackson

You can get it right at the restaurant, Juncle Jims, or online @ http://www.dixiechili.com/. I am not sure but I think Kroger carries it also. If you called Dixie they will know...Russ

I finally found it at the Meijer's and Kroger's at Eastgate...I just had it with a Sabrett's  hotdog on a toasted bun with sharp shredded  cheddar and fried onion..it was wonderful ..their chili is much better than Skyline or Gold Star.  Gonna have it over thin spaghetti tonight again with sharp shredded  cheddar and fried onions.

TJ Jackson
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 4565
RE: Cincinnati Chili 2009/09/23 14:17:28 (permalink)
wallyford
I am a newbie here, but I love this thread.  It is about as entertaining as any.

Unfortunately, it should be called Cincinnati "chili" because whatever you wanna call it, that stuff they serve is not what most people think of as chili.  Now, I am not really a chili snob, in fact, I am sure that there is some of that stuff that may not be that bad, but my experience has told me otherwise.  I must say I recall a program on the Food Network where they showed someone from a famous Cincinnati establishment making that stuff.  Once they BOILED THE MEAT I couldn't watch it anymore. 

I have eaten the "chili" in Cincinnati and it reminded me of what the Henry Hill character says near the end of Goodfellas (I'll paraphrase so interpret the quotes loosely) "I ordered spaghetti with marinara and I got egg noodles and ketchup."  I think that sums it up

Finally, for anyone who thinks that stuff is "chili" I cannot picture you objecting to someone adding celery or anything else to it.  That's rather like the guy who painted a mustache on the Mona Lisa complaining when someone added a beard!

Cheers,
Wally