Clarksdale, MS

Author
reuben
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 6
2007/09/11 20:36:40 (permalink)

Clarksdale, MS

I go there pretty much every year for the Sunflower River Blues and Gospel Festival, which just happens to be the best free blues/gospel festival in the nation. But that's a different forum...

This year I decided to make a little report on the food, although I know I'm far from the first to dine there and file a report, and I'm just a Junior Burger.

It was between 102 and 106 F with a blistering sun and cloudless sky when I was there in August, so driving around in my airconditioned rental car looking for food and drink held a bit more of an attraction than usual. Being a photographer, I go down a few days early and stay a few days late.

I suppose that the first place everyone mentions is the Rest Haven. The breakfasts are great, and the camraderie with the locals is good, too. Whether you need a banker, lawyer, plumber, modern day gandy dancer, or just want to know the latest on the soybeans, cotton, corn, and cattle prices, this is the place to get your info. If you get up to refill your coffee just keep walking around and fill up the cups of everyone else - it's the pleasant and sociable norm. The kibbie omelets are a bit special and quite filling, a bit of a derivative of the current owner's Lebanese heritage. Nothing wrong with the french toast, pancakes, omeletes, or anything else.

Going down (headed south) on State St/Hwy 61, go past the legendary crossroads, under the bridge, and it will be on your right.

(sure hope I post these links right)

If you're a bit north of Clarksdale I'd recommend the Blue and White in Tunica. Goooooood breakfast. Also ate breakfast in the hospital in Clarksdale one year, but that's another story - the food wasn't very good, although it was basically all-you-can-eat.