The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Crab houses off of I-95 in Chesapeake area

Jozey

• Total Posts: 4
Crab houses off of I-95 in Chesapeake area Wed, 04/14/04 3:51 PM (permalink)

My husband and I have been doing the Snowbird shuffle for the last 2 years btw. West Palm Beach and East Hampton, NY. Every time we go through the Chesapeake area, we try to find one of those crab restaurants totally dedicated to crabs with the paper tablecloths, crabs, french fries, wine/beer, and little else! We travel all the way on I95 - would love to break up the trip with a crab feast - we're heading up in 3 weeks. Many thanks for any suggestions ... [|)]

signman

• Total Posts: 1743
    RE: Crab houses off of I-95 in Chesapeake area Wed, 04/14/04 5:12 PM (permalink)
    If you're looking for steamed crabs this time of year, it's too early in the season for local crabs, so you will be eating most likely Texas or Louisiana crabs, 2 of your best bets are in the heart of Baltimore City, Bo Brooks or Obryckis. www.bobrooks.com, www.obryckis.com

If you want one of the best crabcakes in just the setting you described, try G&M Restaurant in Linthicum www.gandmcrabcakes.com This is the setting for this weekend's Maryland Crabcake Meet and Eat where Roadfooders from all over the country will be gathering. It's at exit 8 off the Baltimore Beltway, (I-695) which is only about 2 miles off of I-95, easy on and off.

Jozey

• Total Posts: 4
      RE: Crab houses off of I-95 in Chesapeake area Wed, 04/14/04 5:16 PM (permalink)
      Crabs, here we come!! Thank you for the great leads!!!!

jpatweb

• Total Posts: 232
        RE: Crab houses off of I-95 in Chesapeake area Wed, 04/14/04 5:20 PM (permalink)
        Tim's Rivershore in Dumfries, Virginia, about a half-hour south of DC, is very convenient to I-95.

http://www.timsrivershore.com

hungovergourmet