Cracking eggs ... a silly question

Page: < 123 Showing page 3 of 3
Author
Scorereader
Sirloin
  • Total Posts : 5546
Re:Cracking eggs ... a silly question 2011/04/13 16:14:15 (permalink)
Foodbme

Scorereader

annpeeples

Well, I just crack them with 2 hands, on the stove next to the pan, then open eggs up into the pan.100% success rate.Didnt think there was a "procedure". But then again, I was a short order cook in the 70s at Waffle House and Lums.

that's what we did at Big Boy's, too. not pan though, we had a flat grill. Usually opened with one hand while I flipped another egg over easy with my right hand.

You're a multi-tasker huh?
IMHO, Fried Eggs should never be cooked on a flattop. Only in a pan. When eggs are cooked on a flattop, the whites tend to spread too far. In a pan, the whites of the eggs are kept from spreading, allowing for a more evenly cooked egg and a better plate presentation.  Same goes for Scrambled Eggs and Omelets. Never had fluffy scrambled eggs or an omelet cooked on a flattop.

never had that problem, and for omelettes, flat top was great because I could make the tri-fold omelette more easily. If you want the half moon look, pan works. I like to present omelette in a tri-fold fashion. Although, we may have used a small pan for fried eggs...I don't recall now. I did try to forget a lot of what happened at that place. My fondest kitchen memories was making three meals a day in a mess hall atmosphere, at a summer camp. While some people remember summer camp food as being pretty bad, the food at our camp was very good. I remember 1st year counselors who came to us form other camps would comment that it was the only summer camp they recall where they may have gained weight, because they ate fulll meals and sometimes seconds because they lied it so much. Well, it was either that, or they drank too much bug juice.