Drive In Movie Theaters

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
SeamusD
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1038
Re:Drive In Movie Theaters 2012/02/07 10:37:56 (permalink)
The Fingerlakes Drive-In just west of Auburn, NY on 5 & 20 is still open seasonally, although I haven't gone there in a very long time. The summer after I graduated high school, my girlfriend and I would go every weekend, regardless of what was playing, just for lack of anything else to do.
pnwchef
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 2518
Re:Drive In Movie Theaters 2012/02/07 10:50:11 (permalink)
Michael Hoffman

There was just one drive-in movie theater around when I was a kid -- on the post Road in Milford, Connecticut. But by the time I was old enough to go they'd shut down. I didn't get to go to one till I was grown and living in Orange, Texas. But then I had to go with my first wife and stepchildren.

Wow, didn't know they had a Horse & Carriage section..................
6star
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 4388
Re:Drive In Movie Theaters 2012/02/07 14:21:25 (permalink)
SeamusD

The Fingerlakes Drive-In just west of Auburn, NY on 5 & 20 is still open seasonally, although I haven't gone there in a very long time. The summer after I graduated high school, my girlfriend and I would go every weekend, regardless of what was playing, just for lack of anything else to do.

Did you two ever see the movie?

ces1948
  • Total Posts : 1512
Re:Drive In Movie Theaters 2012/02/07 15:05:36 (permalink)
We used to go a lot when I was young. I thought it was quite an adventure. We had two in the Tulare, Ca area. The Sequoia and the Mooney. The Mooney operated until a few years ago but the Sequoia was demolished long ago.
My wife and I went to one in the Bristol, TN area about 5 years ago just for nostalgia sake. 
Treetop Tom
Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 348
Re:Drive In Movie Theaters 2012/02/07 15:39:58 (permalink)