English-only ordering policy

Page: < 123 > Showing page 2 of 3
Author
MilwFoodlovers
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 3160
RE: English-only ordering policy 2006/06/10 10:59:59 (permalink)
One of my favorite Chicago red hot places in town has chosen to add political slogans to all his food (he's a far far right wing kook btw). After being shocked at the Freedom fries , the Doyle burger and the Clinton something or other, I left, never to return. I'd have loved to tell him why, but there were only teenagers behind the counter. That said, I work in healthcare and I'm amazed at the lack of English spoken by a number of patients. Lao, Hmong, Vietnamese and Spanish with the majority of them Spanish. My point is that why do we accomodate the Spanish with bi-lingual signs and forms and not the others? That is what I feel is unfair. My grandfather was beaten at Carlisle if he attempted to speak Ojibwe and his was the native language of America! A WWI veteran, he and my Seabee veteran uncle were denied a beer on a hot day here in Wisconsin, this after WWII. I have Spanish friends, love Mexican food and shop in Hispanic markets but it boils my blood when my poor Spanish doesn't allow me to ask what some dish is because no one at the restaurant speaks a word of English. San Miguel de Allende is a potential retirement location but I guarantee that I'll be proficient in Spanish within 6 months. I speak French in Quebec, patios in Jamaica and Spanish to some of my patients (all poorly but the effort is always apreciated) . I do think its in everyone best interests to learn or at least attempt to learn English if you live in America. Speak whatever you want at home, at church, and at ethnic festivals as I think holding on to one heritage is very important; just don't expect everyone in America to learn your language, whatever it is.
RibRater
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1862
RE: English-only ordering policy 2006/06/10 11:28:47 (permalink)