Florida Vendors: HELP!!!

Author
Truckin
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 38
2006/02/25 10:36:18 (permalink)

Florida Vendors: HELP!!!

My Mobile Food Unit is permitted throughout Pennsylvania, only serves espresso-type drinks. Everything is NSF, I have a 110 degree handwash sink, waste tank, etc.

My son lives in Florida, and hooked us up with a very good location for the Spring Break crowds. I registered with the state, got my sales tax stuff, studied the food code, regarding pushcarts, trucks, MFU's, and it looked to me that what Florida called a Mobile Food Dispensing Vehicle is enclosed and has a 3 basin sink on board. Mine is the type you stand next to, and no 3 basin sink. (http://www.hoboespresso.com)

Since I am coming to a single location, limited duration event (and am in front of my commissary) and will not do mobile sales at all, it looked to me like I should apply as a semi-permanent vendor at a temporary event. I called the DBPR and requested this kind of license/inspection. I did this from Pennsylvania, a couple weeks ago. An Inspector called me back and said that I shouldn't worry about it, they really didn't regulate coffee-only. Feeling clear, I continued to spend money on this venture, and came to Florida to get my final permit, the mercantile head tax from the local municipality. Passed the ordnance concerns with the building department, then the last sentry said "If DBPR doesn't need to license you, get it in writing."