Food theme days at work?

Author
ScreamingChicken
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 4978
2011/11/16 09:44:51 (permalink)

Food theme days at work?

Today is the annual chili contest here at work and even though it's nearly 3 hours until lunch the aroma's already wafting down from the upstairs break room.  Usually about 8-10 people bring in chili while others contribute bread, butter, milk, desserts, etc.; I bring in my wife's bread machine and cook up a loaf of fresh cornbread right in my office.

Does anybody else work in a place that does something similar?

Brad

12 Replies Related Threads

lleechef
    Sirloin
    • Total Posts : 6648
    Re:Food theme days at work? 2011/11/16 10:45:08 (permalink)
    I'm a restaurant chef so unfortunately every day is a food theme day.  We get sick of looking at filet mignons, king crab, lobsters, etc. but would kill for a tuna salad sandwich!
    WarToad
    Double Chili Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 1839
    Re:Food theme days at work? 2011/11/16 11:03:49 (permalink)
    I also have had Chili cookoffs at work.  When you're in a large office with people who have grown up from all over the country, the spread hits just about every regional variation you can imagine.  You get the good, bad, and ugly.

It was also my first experience with a real Texas compitition chili.  Meat chunks, chili gravy, not much else but a lot of flavor.

We also once had a day where you brought in something you grew up with.  It had to be a favorite family recipe from your youth.
    kland01s
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 2835
    Re:Food theme days at work? 2011/11/16 12:41:42 (permalink)