Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
Fieldthistle
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1948
2005/10/09 08:58:49 (permalink)

Foot Problems- and not foot in mouth

Hello all,
I hope this is not a stupid question (If it is, I will delete this), but many restaurant workers are on their feet for long hours and on hard floors, and corns, calluses, etc. can develop. It's not good for their feet and also can affect their work. A trip to a foot doctor can be costly for some. Any folklore, tips, rememdies, etc. for the worker with sore feet.
Take care,
Fieldthistle

39 Replies Related Threads

lleechef
    Sirloin
    • Total Posts : 6828
    RE: Foot Problems- and not foot in mouth 2005/10/09 10:21:58 (permalink)
    Wear clogs. It was manditory when I worked in Europe and I've been wearing them for 30 years without any problems. I buy mine from LL Bean, but there are quite a few manufacturers out there to choose from.
    dreamzpainter
    • Total Posts : 1609
    RE: Foot Problems- and not foot in mouth 2005/10/09 10:32:03 (permalink)
    mechanics suffer from the same problem, a friend swears by his gell inserts
    zataar
    • Total Posts : 1440
    RE: Foot Problems- and not foot in mouth 2005/10/09 10:52:20 (permalink)
    Proper shoes, I wear Dansko Pro clogs, the kind with a back, I tend to slide out of the kind without a heel. Working on a shock mat helps as does good posture. Fortunately, I never had much of a problem with foot pain or back problems, even standing long hours. After 14 hours my knees really bother me, but I work those kinds of hours infrequently, thankfully.
    Mark in Ohio
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 181
    RE: Foot Problems- and not foot in mouth 2005/10/09 11:21:22 (permalink)
    Being on your feet all day (or night) takes its toll on your body in many ways: sore feet, aching legs, lower back pain, and, if you are on a concrete floor and have to lift and carry a lot, hemorrhoids.