Frozen Pre-Made Pizza Advice

Author
JakerDog
Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 204
2008/01/03 09:59:37 (permalink)

Frozen Pre-Made Pizza Advice

I live in NJ and I am surrounded by small, really good and large variety of Pizza places. I have the chains (Pizza Hut, Dominos) and never order from them. They used to be OK as a pizza substitute but I wouldn't choose one of them over a good pizzeria made pie. Here is my question: My son is getting to the age where after school or with friends he can make himself something to eat, and he keeps asking about frozen pizza. He would like a couple on hand to throw in when friends are over. I have no experience with frozen pre-made pizza and there are a lot of choices. Reading the boxes give no insight to compare. I could use some recommendations, and comparisons. I should just jump in buy one and start comparing, but I though this forum is the place for sound advice. Thanks in advance.

By the way, I had an idea to just freeze the pizzeria slices, but there never seems to be any leftovers to freeze. How does that happen?

27 Replies Related Threads

porkbeaks
    Double Chili Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 2217
    RE: Frozen Pre-Made Pizza Advice 2008/01/03 10:22:40 (permalink)
    Your best bet is to order a few pizzas of the smallest size from your favorite place and request them to be undercooked. If you tell them they're for freezing and reheating they'll know what to do. After cooling, put them in freezer bags (I use ZipLocks) and suck the excess air out with a straw. Reheat in a hot oven 450-500 until the right color. I do this with my home-made pies often and they are still better than anything that comes frozen in a box. pb
    Jennifer_4
    • Total Posts : 1511
    RE: Frozen Pre-Made Pizza Advice 2008/01/03 10:44:24 (permalink)