Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
papadawg
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 11
2008/09/26 11:45:30 (permalink)

Georgia Law

Noob here with a question...

First off I've been hanging around for a few weeks and I've found the wealth of information in RF to be invaluable and encouraging. So thank you for that :)

I'm starting a small catering business in Atlanta, Georgia (Home of the Varsity!!) and I've hit an unexpected road block. Shocking, right!?? Luckily I haven't invested a dime yet... still planning, planning, planning...

This is the deal... as with HD carts, I need a commercial kitchen to call "home" in order to get my business license. I assumed throughout my planning that I would use a shared-use kitchen or essentially rent space in a licensed commercial kitchen (e.g. hourly). Easy enough.

Nope! In the Peach State, under a new law, a commercial kitchen can only be granted ONE license. No shared kitchens allowed. Two licenses cannot be issued for a single kitchen. Period.

So every small food business is either operating illegally or they've given up?? Gimme a break! There has got to be a way around this. Has ANYONE come across this type of regulation? Any suggestions on how to work around this legally?

PD

52 Replies Related Threads

CCinNJ
    Sirloin
    • Total Posts : 7778
    RE: Georgia Law 2008/09/26 12:51:56 (permalink)
    I feel your pain.

Sorry to hear this. Many caterers start and build their business through shared space, until they can afford their own commercial kitchen. Usually bakeries that close early in the day, or larger commercial kitchens that will lease a small space for you to work.

I created a way to make it work in this area, operate legally (which is very important in my book) and actually make operating much easier, with less headaches for transporting prepared foods.