Getting NYC street food concession up and running

Author
diezbi
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 9
2006/06/12 12:42:40 (permalink)

Getting NYC street food concession up and running

Hi. I'm an experienced NYC restaurant cook who's been doing a lot of research about street food, with the idea of getting my own food concession going as soon as possible. I'd appreciate whatever info and advice those of you with actual experience and knowledge in the area can provide me with.

My particular plan is to do something with the great BBQ recipes I've been developing, and I'll probably start a post in the BBQ forum as well, soliciting advice on that specific food group.

For now, my questions are of a more generic nature about selling whatever kind of street food in NYC.

Can a food cart or truck be rented or leased? If so, where and for how much?So far, my research has only found people willing to sell their carts/businesses but I haven't found anyone willing to rent or lease one. Used carts seem to start at about $4,000. Can anyone suggest a better way of starting up on a small budget? My ideal situation would be to rent a lunch/catering truck, but I have a feeling that would be cost prohibitive, and I'll probably wind up with a cart.

Is it necessary to create a corporation or an LLP? I"ve been told no, but it seems the potential liability in this business would make it essential. Anyone with some perspective on the subject or the name of a lawyer/accountant who specializes in this area?

Insurance. Is it necessary? How much?