The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Handling Raw Meat

Change Page: 12 > | Showing page 1 of 2, messages 1 to 30 of 37
Diner-Lover

• Total Posts: 246
Handling Raw Meat Fri, 07/14/06 11:39 AM (permalink)
Mr.DL and I were having breakfast at a diner recently and sat at the counter since no other seating was available. There was one main cook who we enjoyed watching as she prepared eggs, waffles, toast, bacon, steaks etc. However, I was a little surprised (and dismayed!) to watch her take 3 strips of raw bacon and a raw steak from the fridge on numerous occasions, throw them on the grill, and then proceed to take toast out of the toaster and butter it. I'm not a really squeamish person and not particularly phobic about germs (even though I'm a nurse ), but it bothered me to think of her fingers covered with whatever's on that raw meat repeatedly touching utensils and toast and whatever else.

Is this a common practice that we, the dining public just generally don't see? It was a great meal and I didn't get sick or anything from eating there, but this can't comform to board of health standards, can it?

Sundancer7

RE: Handling Raw Meat Fri, 07/14/06 12:06 PM (permalink)
    quote:
    Originally posted by Diner-Lover