The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Help for an aspiring restauranteur

Ditas1

• Total Posts: 1
Help for an aspiring restauranteur Tue, 11/22/11 8:22 PM (permalink)
Hello everyone, i am sure this is a common thread on this forum, but i was hoping to find some assistance with planning out my first business plan.

I have 5 years experience in cooking, and 2 in restaurant management, i'm young (perhaps too young at 24) and driven, and i'd love the opportunity to fulfill the dream of owning and operating my own restaurant. 

I have many contacts in business, advertising/sales, construction/renovation, brewing and cooking; at this point i'm looking for help with the basic logistics of how one would begin analyzing the profitability of opening a restaurant. 

Thus far i have a concept and a possible venue in mind, but many questions. 

Specifically, i'm looking for probable expenses in the following areas:

Rent or Lease for space
Business and Employee insurance costs
Water/Gas/Electric
Waste Removal
Mechanical/Equipment Repair/Maintenance
Initial equipment costs

I have a pretty good idea of labor costs, building maintenance costs, advertising, etc. but i cant seem to find many good resources online about the basic costs of operating out of a venue. 

The concept is a small restaurant (and possibly Brew-Pub) that focuses on breakfast and lunch take out meals at a reasonable price (with the option to "Eat-In".) 

After dinner, the establishment would convert easily into a bar or brew-pub (this would depend on whether or not i can convince a brewer to become a partner) that would offer good beer in a casual atmosphere free of the pretension of competing establishments.

I also have questions about forming an LLC partnership, obtaining a liquor liscense, and perfecting a business plan.