Help with Charbroil Cooking

Author
Halsey Grill
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 12
2010/04/25 00:08:46 (permalink)

Help with Charbroil Cooking

Hey Folks,

I'm new to this Grilling thing, I'm trying to get a rhythm on my gas charbroil but it's not happening. My grilled Tilapia and Burgers keep sticking to the Grates. I add vegetable oil to the grates and the food but get the same results. Please help me I need to get it together ASAP.   

8 Replies Related Threads

Mosca
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 2983
    Re:Help with Charbroil Cooking 2010/04/25 00:20:23 (permalink)
    Get the grill as hot as you can before putting the food on it. And don't turn the burgers or fish too soon; let the first side grill a decent while before turning. Ideally you should only turn once. That takes some practice. Until you get it right, just figure to let the meat grill for about 3 minutes on the first side.
    boyardee65
    Double Chili Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 1460
    Re:Help with Charbroil Cooking 2010/04/25 03:13:00 (permalink)
     For the most part I agree with Mosca. You did not mention the heat source so I can only generalize. Make sure that the grates are HOT HOT HOT!  Spray the grill with Pam or other nonstick spray. Pat dry the fish! This is important!! 
    I like to oil the fish lightly and then add salt and pepper just before placing on the grill. This helps to build a great crust. Do not turn until the fish WANTS to be turned. If you have to work at getting it unstuck then you are turning it too soon. I think that 2-3 minutes is a good time to check to see if it will come up without sticking.

Good Luck!

David O.
    Foodbme
    Porterhouse
    • Total Posts : 10353
    Re:Help with Charbroil Cooking 2010/04/25 04:13:44 (permalink)