Hi guys.

Author
savorysavage
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 1
2014/02/03 22:44:00 (permalink)

Hi guys.

Hello everyone. First I would like to say thank you to everyone who posts here. The information on this forum is unbelievably helpful. My name is Cody, and I am in the process of converting a sno cone stand to fit my needs. I had a quick question. When you first opened the doors, or awning, to your food truck or trailer, did you also have a regular full or part time job? Im sure some people worked festivals on the weekend, and a regular 9-5 through the week.

I am planning on keeping a part time job while I serve lunch out of my trailer. My girlfriend will be helping with prep. My menu will consist of comfort foods...ie fish and chips, chicken and waffles, etc. I have 13 years experience working in restaurants, 5 of that was as sous chef. Graduated culinary school 6 years ago.

Thanks in advance for any input! 

2 Replies Related Threads

Foodbme
    Porterhouse
    • Total Posts : 10284
    Re:Hi guys. 2014/02/04 02:26:47 (permalink)
    The best way to get an idea of if you can make your business into a full time business is to run some pro-forma P & L's.
    First determine the personal income you need to earn in order to meet all your living expenses and money needed for you and your family if you have one to live on.
    Then do some P & L pro-forma's for the business to see how much gross revenue you need to generate in order to net the amount of money you need in personal income to meet your obligations.
    For example, if you need to generate $5000 a month in personal NET income AFTER taxes, you probably need $ 6000 in gross income per month.
    How much gross revenue would a business need to generate in order to let you take home $ 6000, before taxes, every month?