Home Fries?

Author
harriet1954
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1165
2008/05/03 17:46:42 (permalink)

Home Fries?

I've been cooking potatoes for many years, but I've never made home fries! When I go out to breakfast, I always order french fries with my eggs, because I'm afraid they'll put onions or peppers or both in the home fries. I don't eat either. Or else the home fries look raw on the inside or burnt on the outside, or a combination of both, when I look on someone else's plate. Well, I'm going to attempt to make home fries for my man tomorrow morning with his eggs, and I've been perusing the internet. So many ways. I realize that the best potatoes to use are russets, but I do have two large Idaho baking potatoes. Should I use those? I'll probably make them raw right in the pan and fry the heck out of them, instead of using precooked (I mean, as in "I'll boil or bake them first", not store-bought premade, like I would ever). How much oil? Butter too? I don't want his stomach to get upset! But I don't want my smoke alarm to go off! Remember, no onions or peppers, so less cooking time. I know to layer them. How long to cook? I'm going to slice them thinly; I have a nice Santoku-style knife.

Oh! Should the pan (I'll use the regular stainless steel 12-inch, as opposed to the nonstick for this) be uncovered? Covered? A combination of both? How long for each, if so?

I feel like a new bride or something, but you're never too old to learn to cook new things, even something as simple as potatoes. And obviously, although we're not married yet, we're still in that honeymoon stage of everything. So far, he loves my cooking, and I don't want to break the winning streak. Any suggestions will be helpful. I mean, I'm sure I won't mess them up too terribly, but I'd be interested and accept all replies with grace. Thank you!

7 Replies Related Threads

stricken_detective
    • Total Posts : 2330
    RE: Home Fries? 2008/05/03 21:40:10 (permalink)