Helpful ReplyHot Dog Cooking Methods

Author
wabidog
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 1
2013/03/10 23:19:03 (permalink)

Hot Dog Cooking Methods

Hello,
I'm new to the Roadfood site and new to the vending business (just getting a truck going).  So many of my stupid newbie questions have been answered on these threads. Thank you for that.  It seems, however, that the stupid newbie question list is endless.  So, here's one for y'all.  I want to serve grilled dogs and sausages. I trying to figure out the best way to do so QUICKLY.  I am thinking of using a table-top steamer to get the dogs up to temp and then tossing them onto the griddle as ordered.  Is this a workable option? If not, what have you pros found to work best?  If this question is answered elsewhere, please forgive me and direct me to that thread.  Thanks for your help.

Tristan225
Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 352
Re:Hot Dog Cooking Methods 2013/03/10 23:55:17 (permalink)
You could bring them up to temp. quickly on the griddle then transfer them to the cooler side to keep them warm. If you have a coney restaurant in town go look at how they do it.
djdawg
Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 439
Re:Hot Dog Cooking Methods 2013/03/11 00:05:18 (permalink)
wabidog....what I know is not from experience but what I have heard.  Can I ask if you are dead set on grilling as part of your process?