I'm new to the restaurant business and need some quick advice...

Author
eddysv
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 6
2011/04/24 05:31:37 (permalink)

I'm new to the restaurant business and need some quick advice...

Hi Everyone :)

I just started a restaurant in my hometown selling typical foods from Mexico and South America.
Since I'm new I know I will come up to some roadblocks along the way and since I know there
are many restaurant professionals here I would like some advice on what problems I might run into...
and how I could prepare for them before they even happen...

Thanks guys!
Eddys

10 Replies Related Threads

pnwchef
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 2519
    Re:I'm new to the restaurant business and need some quick advice... 2011/04/24 05:53:28 (permalink)
    eddysv

Hi Everyone :)

I just started a restaurant in my hometown selling typical foods from Mexico and South America.
    Since I'm new I know I will come up to some roadblocks along the way and since I know there
    are many restaurant professionals here I would like some advice on what problems I might run into...
    and how I could prepare for them before they even happen...

Thanks guys!
    Eddys

Welcome Eddy.
    watch cash flow...
    know your cost on everything
    know your labor cost and use as little labor as possible
    work the business, be there
    pay your bills on time
    talk with you customers, be open to change and suggestions
    build a good relationship with your sales people
    know the FOH and BOH like the back of your hand
    be level headed and fair to your employees
    train your employees with good sanitation guidelines and policies.
    make sure your employees are trained and know the menu, know what the food taste like and are proud to be a part of the restaurant............
    If you ever want to fire your Chef, you better know how to cook
    be the kind of boss you always wanted to work for............