In search of a great Tex Mex cheese Enchilada...

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
PapaJoe8
Sirloin
  • Total Posts : 5504
2008/01/07 14:42:55 (permalink)

In search of a great Tex Mex cheese Enchilada...

I'm born and raised in Dallas. When I was a kid I mowed lawns for a living. I would take some of my money, walk to the nearby El Chico, and order 2 plates of cheese enchiladas. They came 3 to a plate. I was in kid heaven!

Later I worked for El Chico. One of my jobs wat to roll 500 cheese enchiladas for the days service, just cheese and onion, rolled in a corn tortilla. When I finishes I would put 12 of those delicious babys on a plate ( they barley fit ) and cover w/ chili. That was lunch! It was free!!!

Up untill the late 80s El Chico still made the same great cheese enchilada. Then something changed. It was the kind of cheese they used. I am kiking my self for not remembering the brand they used.

El Fenix still makes a good enchilada and I can tell no difference from when I was a kid. I always liked El Chico just a bit better though. Both places still make a good chili to go over them.

Who do you know who makes a great Tex Mex cheese enchilada? And does anyone happen to know the brand of cheese El Chico used to use?
Joe

31 Replies Related Threads

UncleVic
    Sirloin
    • Total Posts : 6025
    RE: In search of a great Tex Mex cheese Enchilada... 2008/01/07 15:02:20 (permalink)
    Never been there, but they probably switched from fresh to processed to save on costs..
    PapaJoe8
    Sirloin
    RE: In search of a great Tex Mex cheese Enchilada... 2008/01/07 15:09:30 (permalink)
    They switched something. Anyone still work for El Chico?

Oh, the origional El Fenix on Field St. in Dallas makes the best I can still find.
    Joe
    zataar
    Double Chili Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 1440
    RE: In search of a great Tex Mex cheese Enchilada... 2008/01/07 15:12:06 (permalink)