In search of great a long gone Austin taco...

Author
PapaJoe8
Sirloin
  • Total Posts : 5504
2006/05/29 11:55:37 (permalink)

In search of great a long gone Austin taco...

It was back in the late 60s and I was a student at UT. There was a taco shack on, I think 1st and Congress. No place to sit, just food handed outa the window, then walk across the street, eat and watch the river roll by. They had a great taco on a flour tortilla, then refried beans, then meat, and onions and jalopenas if you wanted them. They had a flavor I have never had since. I have tried to recreate them with no success. The beans were homemade pintos, then mashed and refried. The secret is somewhere in the meat I think? Or was it the air coming off the river???

Ok, I know it was called the Tamale House, and that location closed down sometime in the 70s. Now there are several Tamale houses in Austin with different owners. My question is, do the owners of the place I mentioned still have a locations in Austin, and if so, do they still make a great meat and bean flour taco?
Joe

8 Replies Related Threads

beachykeen
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 7
    RE: In search of great a long gone Austin taco... 2006/07/02 14:02:20 (permalink)
    I'm sorry. The only place that comes to mind is Rosie's Tamale house on Hwy. 71 near Lake Travis. Gosh, I miss Austin!!
    PapaJoe8
    Sirloin
    RE: In search of great a long gone Austin taco... 2006/07/02 21:42:03 (permalink)
    There are two Tamale House places now in Austin, and boy do I always miss Austin also! When were you there Beach? I know one of them owned the river location. I am kinda suprised that someone here dosen't know the answer. I think they do but havn't read this yet.
    Joe
    Bushie
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 2902
    RE: In search of great a long gone Austin taco... 2006/07/02 22:10:18 (permalink)
    quote:
    Originally posted by PapaJoe8