Leonard's Pit Barbeque

Author
WVCitySlicker
Hamburger
  • Total Posts : 90
2008/05/27 01:07:40 (permalink)

Leonard's Pit Barbeque

I recently saw a segment on www.foodnetwork.com about Leonard's Pit Barbeque in Memphis, TN. Has anyone out there ever eaten at Leonard's and would anyone out there happen to have the BBQ sauce recipe they'd like to share.

5 Replies Related Threads

BR
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 233
    RE: Leonard's Pit Barbeque 2008/05/27 20:32:56 (permalink)
    I Googled this so I have no knowledge of it's authenticity.

The Groveland Hotel
    and Restaurant
    Groveland, California
    Heritage Recipe
    Barbecue Sauce

This group of recipes creates an incredible menu of Southern Barbecue as it was prepared several generations ago. It was passed down to me from my Aunt Dora Simmons (we're all from Memphis, TN), who had received it from her family. This is the same Barbecue as it was prepared by Leonard's Barbecue on Old Highway 51 South in Memphis. As a former schoolmate and neighbor of Elvis Presley, we enjoyed this type of food often. ... Peggy Mosley

Ingredients
    7 cups chopped onions
    1 gallon catsup
    1/2 gallon water
    2 cups chili powder
    4 Tablespoons dry mustard (1/4 cup)
    20 ounces Worcestershire sauce (2-1/2 cups)
    2 teaspoons chopped fresh garlic
    1 gallon red wine vinegar
    4 pounds dark brown sugar
    2.7 cups paprika
    12 bay leaves
    2 cups red crushed pepper

Combine all ingredients in large container. Bring to a boil and turn off immediately. Do not cook after boiling point! The sauce will be very thin. Cool and put into containers with tight-fitting lids. Store for 30 days to age. When ready for use, leave open only what will be used. Once sauce is opened to the air, it will thicken immediately.
    Bobs
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 244
    RE: Leonard's Pit Barbeque 2008/05/27 20:43:34 (permalink)