Looking to find a commissary for my food trailer.

Author
leila10
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 6
2014/08/16 10:05:32 (permalink)

Looking to find a commissary for my food trailer.

Hello,

I am new to Road Food and this is my first post. I was hoping I could get some information regarding a commissary for a food trailer. I have been in the restaurant / hospitality business for years. My husband and I have decided to try a shot at opening a food trailer. We have done research and have come to the realization the health department is a nightmare. That being said in the state of Louisiana where we just moved to requires you to have a commissary for a food truck, trailer etc. I was able to locate a restaurant owner that was going to assist with a signed contract for a year for a fee. Well, he recently let me know that he wasn't going to renew his lease at his restaurant. This now leaves me trying to locate a commercial kitchen that would let me rent from them as a commissary. I am very new to the area and I don't seem to have any luck locating a facility.

If there is anyone that could possibly give any information or advice on where, how, I could find a commissary in Louisiana I would be most grateful!!!

Thanks,
Leila

10 Replies Related Threads

Flyingout
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 2
    Re: Looking to find a commissary for my food trailer. 2014/08/17 18:39:53 (permalink)
    Leila, I don't know about Louisiana, but where I am, besides a restaurant you could look at churches, soup kitchens, halls, like a VFW hall etc.. As long as they are inspected.
    leila10
    Junior Burger
    Re: Looking to find a commissary for my food trailer. 2014/08/18 10:54:54 (permalink)
    Thanks for the information. I never thought of a soup kitchen. From what I've read on Road Food obtaining the commissary is a hard process. However, opening a restaurant seems like it would be a much harder process so... I am going to go with this for starters.
    hella good tacos