Mae Ploy curry pastes

Author
BT
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 3589
2006/10/25 23:05:08 (permalink)

Mae Ploy curry pastes

I've been enjoying Thai food regularly for 25 years in San Francisco, but since I started spending winters in southern Arizona, I've been in the position some other Roadfooders may be in of not having convenient access to a good Thai restaurant. For several years now I've tried to deal with that by shopping in San Francisco for Thai groceries that make the preparation of common favorites like curries possible at home. Finally, I've found a canned curry paste that, when used according the directions on the can and without other ingredients I can't get here, produces something quite close to the curry from my favorite Thai places in SF. It's the Mae Ploy line of curry pastes. Tonight I whipped up some chicken "masman" (variously spelled "mussamun", "massaman" etc) curry just according to the label on the can and it was excellent. And the best news is that this Mae Ploy line seems readily available by mail order on the internet including from an Amazon marketplace seller.

8 Replies Related Threads

zataar
    Double Chili Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 1440
    RE: Mae Ploy curry pastes 2006/10/25 23:28:37 (permalink)
    I've been using Mae Ploy curry pastes for a long time. Great products. It's easy to add different flavors to the various curries to freshen them up. Cinnamon sticks, wild lime leaves, a few whole dried red chiles, cardomom pods, the choice is yours. It beats pounding 27 different ingredients together to get the same results. Glad you posted this, BT. I think some mussaman will be on the menu here this weekend.
    V960
    • Total Posts : 2429
    RE: Mae Ploy curry pastes 2006/10/26 09:13:07 (permalink)
    Have to agree. Good stuff.
    Ashphalt
    • Total Posts : 1644
    RE: Mae Ploy curry pastes 2006/10/26 09:42:58 (permalink)