felix4067
-
Total Posts:
2325
- Joined: 12/13/2003
- Location: Near Grand Rapids, MI
|
Malware warning from this site
Wed, 07/6/11 1:13 PM
( permalink)
I was just trying to look at the Aluminum Trees thread when my computer gave me a malware warning...from one of the ads maybe? A link someone posted in the thread? Hard to say, as I shan't be opening the thread and risking a headache cleaning up my computer. Interesting. And not good.
|
|
|
|
felix4067
-
Total Posts:
2325
- Joined: 12/13/2003
- Location: Near Grand Rapids, MI
|
Re:Malware warning from this site
Wed, 07/6/11 2:06 PM
( permalink)
I just thought the powers that be would be interested in knowing if some of the ads they are hosting contain malware (or, more importantly, if a member here is posting a link to a site that contains malware). I know how to deal with it on a personal computer level, but the bigger picture is what I was going for here. I suspect it's something someone posted rather than an ad, though...that is the only page on this site that generates the warning, and it does it every single time without fail.
<message edited by felix4067 on Wed, 07/6/11 2:07 PM>
|
|
|
|
ces1948
-
Total Posts:
1212
- Joined: 8/6/2003
- Location: Port St Lucie, Fl
|
Re:Malware warning from this site
Wed, 07/6/11 2:09 PM
( permalink)
According to the pix you posted the problem was with edsel.com. I didn't see this link myself. I do have a lot of ad-blocking software installed so maybe it was blocked.
|
|
|
|
felix4067
-
Total Posts:
2325
- Joined: 12/13/2003
- Location: Near Grand Rapids, MI
|
Re:Malware warning from this site
Wed, 07/6/11 2:27 PM
( permalink)
Yes it was. I have no idea if edsel.com has an ad or if someone in the thread posted a link to it. If I get home and the same thing happens, then it's not an ad (I'm currently at my office, but at home I have all ads blocked). OK. Just looked. It is a post by someone in the thread. Probably that should be removed.
<message edited by felix4067 on Wed, 07/6/11 2:30 PM>
|
|
|
|
ScreamingChicken
-
Total Posts:
3344
- Joined: 11/5/2004
- Location: Stoughton, WI
|
Re:Malware warning from this site
Wed, 07/6/11 2:56 PM
( permalink)
Given the Edsel's reputation I'm not surprised that Edsel.com is associated with malware... Brad
|
|
|
|
MikeS.
-
Total Posts:
5172
- Joined: 7/1/2003
- Location: FarEasternPanhandle, WV
- Roadfood Insider
|
Re:Malware warning from this site
Thu, 07/7/11 11:25 AM
( permalink)
Thread has been deleted.
|
|
|
|