Mexican Food Top Picks!

Page: < 12345.. > >> Showing page 3 of 8
Author
Bushie
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 2902
RE: Mexican Food Top Picks! 2005/01/06 18:08:25 (permalink)
quote:
Originally posted by olphart

Bushie, we went to a place in Georgetown on 29 at or near Austin St (I think) that I thought was pretty fair. If memory serves me it was in what used to be a drive-in restaurant at one time. Do you know the place?

I saw you mention Nuevo Leon before. Can I assume that is the same chain as the one in Bastrop? There is also an Amaya’s in Bastrop that I have grown fond of. Seems like I saw mention of them in Austin as well. I love the tacos at Amaya’s.

I am still learning my way around the eateries of Bastrop. Love to find a good seafood and pizza place there.

olphart, I'm REALLY sorry I didn't see this before!! (I'll be emailing you also.)

Yes, I know exactly where that place is in Georgetown. It's called Dos Salsas. Pretty good.

The Nuevo Leon in Austin is a single restaurant as far as I know. They may have opened another location in Bastrop that I don't know about, but I think they're probably different.

Amaya's Taco Village is great. I also really liked Jalisco's near the old HEB location.

In Bastrop, I loved Maxine's (downtown across the street from the Wells Fargo branch), and The Yacht Club (don't be fooled by the name) in "old town" between downtown and the river. No good pizza in Bastrop, and certainly no good seafood.

If you haven't already, you should also drive up 71 toward Austin and eat at Fitties, near where Hwy 21 intersects. It'll be on your right; it's a small red building. Started out as a small shack, and he's grown into a big shack. FANTASTIC BBQ and breakfast tacos. Run by a black man who looks like he could crush you with one hand if he wanted to, and he's got a heart of gold.