Monthly supplies and expenses for a restaurant?

Author
mpatel
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 2
2014/05/28 07:15:20 (permalink)

Monthly supplies and expenses for a restaurant?

Hi,

I'm new to the forums, and have recently been looking into starting a consulting business for restaurants to help them find cheaper suppliers for their foods and products.

However, I have no experience in the industry, and before I devote myself fully to this, I was looking to find out just how "wasteful" i should expect the average restaurant to be.

For example, would there be many restaurants out there who could save 5% or even 10% on food/material costs by locating a cheaper supplier? Or are the industry price deviations much smaller? i.e. maybe supplier prices vary by a much smaller margin, like 1-2%.

Obviously large chains and franchises will (usually) be highly efficient, and I don't expect to get their business, but I'm looking more at how efficient the average "small" restaurant owner would be.

The amount i can save my clients will directly relate to the amount of money i can make, and I don't want to enter an industry where the impact I could have is minimal.

Im looking forward to feedback from those more knowledgeable than me. Thanks!

-Matt

7 Replies Related Threads

jman
    Double Chili Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 1365
    Re:Monthly supplies and expenses for a restaurant? 2014/05/28 10:02:05 (permalink)
    Is that you Jethro?  I thought you wanted to be a brain surgeon.
    mpatel
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 2
    Re:Monthly supplies and expenses for a restaurant? 2014/05/28 10:24:34 (permalink)
    jman

Is that you Jethro?  I thought you wanted to be a brain surgeon.

I'm afraid I don't understand the nature of the reference.
    It seems to be from the Beverly Hillbillies.

Are you suggesting that the issue I mentioned is more complex than I understand, and that I'm oversimplifying matters?
    Foodbme
    Porterhouse
    • Total Posts : 10348