Mussels or clams?

Author
Sundancer7
Fire Safety Admin
  • Total Posts : 13476
2006/05/02 17:31:07 (permalink)

Mussels or clams?

Being from East Tennessee, I have very little coastal experience in seafood. I have had fried clams from the northeast and mussels on the west coast. I enjoyed both but quite frankly I enjoyed the mussels in a garlic and wine sauce the best although the Clam Shack sure did supply some great clams.

I am just curious what the majority of the folks enjoy the most. It perhaps will be a divisional thing depending on where you are from but from my opinion, east Tennessee ain't divisional. We get what we get except when I visit either coast.

I am interested in hearing the pros and cons of each.

You may recall a few months ago, a poster sent us a pic of a clam that was almost obscene. I guess they taste better than they look?

Paul E. Smith
Knoxville, TN

29 Replies Related Threads

salsailsa
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 405
    RE: Mussels or clams? 2006/05/02 17:52:12 (permalink)
    Hi!

I love mussels. Unfortunately, I've never had fresh clams. I've only had frozen, chewy clam strips and canned clams in clam chowder. That picture sure does look great though!

I like Mussels steamed with ginger, cilantro and green onion. I also had an amazing dish of mussels served in a sambuca cream sauce. I hate sambuca and I practically licked the bowl clean.
    seafarer john
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 3481
    RE: Mussels or clams? 2006/05/02 18:12:32 (permalink)
    I love mussels cooked in a little white wine, butter, shallots, and black pepper, with a loaf of crusty bread. And I love raw clams and I love steamed clams, and I love stuffed clams, but they have become ridiculously expensive in recent years and being a lucky individual who grew up with ridiculously cheap clams, we rarely eat them any more. When clams cost as much as oysters, I always choose the oysters.
    Ashphalt
    Double Chili Cheeseburger