LockedMy Christmas Story

Author
jman
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1318
2011/12/25 12:57:27 (permalink)

My Christmas Story

Fifty-two years ago, I was a sixth-grade student at Ashland Elementary School in Lexington, KY.  Back then, Christmas was celebrated in the public schools without any protests or legal actions from the non-Christian community.  I remember that my few Jewish friends not only respected our celebration of the birth of our Savior, they seemed to revel in the joy of the season.  It wasn't unusual that they would have a Hanakkah bush in their home.  Of course, to an 11 year-old, it looked just like a Christmas tree to me.  My point is that Christmas was truly a community celebration.  It was a special season for both Christians and non-Christians.

At school, the last day before Christmas break included lots of yummy treats brought in by the mothers of the kids and exchanging gifts in class.  A few weeks before, we had drawn names to see who we would be bringing a gift to.  Of course, our teacher's desk was covered with little gifts from each of us.

As part of this joyous celebration, the school had an assembly that included a living nativity and a chorus composed of both sixth-grade classes.  The parts of Mary and Joseph were played by sixth-graders, the wise men by fifth-graders, the shepherds by fourth-graders, and the various other characters, including the animals, by the younger kids.