Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

My setup

MikeS.

• Total Posts: 5357
  • Roadfood Insider
My setup Mon, 08/18/03 12:41 AM (permalink)
Well everyone seems to have their idea on a BBQGrill/whatever, so here is mine. I've been using a Kingsford branded oval kettle for about 12 years now. These same units are now sold as Patio Classic brand. The unit is a long oval in shape and I have found this to be very useful.

I use it for both grilling with direct heat and low&slow BBQ with indirect heat. I do several pork butts a year, 2 at a time and cook them for about 12 - 14 hours. I put about 15 Kingsford briquettes, on both sides and then fire up about 14 more in a chimney. When these are well lit I put half on each side to light off the others. Once I get both sides going well I will put on 2 or 3 chunks of well soaked hickory on both sides and then put on the butts.

Once I have the fire regulated to about 225 at the grill level I can go about 6 hours w/o opening the lid. I might make slight adjustments to the vents during this time but I don't always have to. I usually catch a nap. I use a Polder probe thermometer with the probe stuck through a potato on the cooking grill to monitor the temp at the cooking level. I try to average 225 and can come pretty darn close to that average.

I do brisket the same way, except I can only fit 1 large, fat on brisket at a time. I always buy the biggest brisket I can find.

After about 6 hours I add new briquettes that have been lit in my smokey joe and usually 2 more pieces of hickory chunks to each side, and finish cooking. If the meat is ready at about 12 hours I'm set. If not, I'll add a few more lit briquettes but not anymore hickory.

I will do ribs the same way but they go for 5 - 6 hours.