Neophyte Restaurant Owner ?

Author
NAAMikey
Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 193
2005/09/29 20:01:48 (permalink)

Neophyte Restaurant Owner ?

I am not a restaurant professional, but I like to cook. I have been tossing around an idea of opening a small breakfast/lunch place. I have no experience in the business. Would I be better off working for someone else to see if I like it? Problem is, I would probably have to work 2 or more jobs to get paid what I am now. I have always been in the auto business, but my dream has always been to have my own eatery. What do you professionals think? Any ideas where I should/would go first? Or should I just forget about it?

13 Replies Related Threads

wheregreggeats.com
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 4591
    RE: Neophyte Restaurant Owner ? 2005/09/29 20:25:26 (permalink)
    I know exactly how you feel.

My dream business would be a breakfast and lunch place like White Hut ... that transforms into a brick-oven pizza place as the day goes on ... (oh heck, with BBQ out back) ...

I've been thinking about offering to intern someplace ...
    Scallion1
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 418
    RE: Neophyte Restaurant Owner ? 2005/09/29 21:06:10 (permalink)
    okay, i'll start the parade. i've been in the business for 25 years or so. owned two restaurants, a gourmet shop, a jazz club and now a catering business.

if you don't work for someone first, and start planning to open a place without any experience, get a friend to hit you in the head with a three wood.