No carb desserts or low carb desserts

Author
Sundancer7
Fire Safety Admin
  • Total Posts : 13473
2003/12/22 19:57:03 (permalink)

No carb desserts or low carb desserts

As some of you are aware, I have been doing the Atkins's thing for several months. I have lost considerable weight, however I must admit it is boring and I miss great things like Krispy Kreme, Ice cream, cake and pies. No sugar, grains, potatoes and like food are allowed. Is there a whipped cream with splenda on the market.

Is there other options available?

I would appreciate your thoughts.

Paul E. Smith
Knoxville, TN

21 Replies Related Threads

smiles
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 11
    RE: No carb desserts or low carb desserts 2003/12/22 23:42:49 (permalink)
    I have been doing a low-carb diet as well for a couple months and have gone from 195 to 175 - it does work. However, I still fit in my favorite desserts and foods at least once a weekor more. Sort of like a cheat day.

Whipped cream actually has NO carbs in it and my favorite dessert was Sugar-free Jell-O with some Readywhip sprayed all over it. I've done lots of low carb junk food research and basically allow my self SMALL desserts that are more cream based or peanut based:

Payday bars: half the carbs of a normal chocolate bar
    Snickers Peanut Brittle: even better than Paydays, but might not be found everywhere
    Peanut Brittle in general: good, but the problem is that it comes in huge bags/boxes that I can't help but eat the whole thing, so I stay away from it.
    Cheesecake: Pound for pound pretty low carb, but still has a decent bit of sugar in it.
    Planters peanuts and almonds: decent treat with low carbs. Once I lost the weight I've moved into honey roasted :-)
    Beef Jerky: great very low-carb treat - even the ones that are half cheese.
    Coffee: regular coffee, and Borders Books now has a sugar-free Milano Mocha that's pretty good (Splenda)