PASTRAMI in PHILLY!! And my "MEAT-up" with DAVID SAX !! "Save the Deli", he says !!

Page: < 1234 > Showing page 3 of 4
Author
1bbqboy
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 4654
Re:PASTRAMI in PHILLY!! And my "MEAT-up" with DAVID SAX !! "Save the Deli", he says !! 2009/11/10 10:05:32 (permalink)
BillyB

Walking into a New York Deli to me is like walking through the gates of Disneyland. The cast of charcters are behind the counter. I can't wait for the show to begin. I haven't been back East for many years and I miss the heart and soul of these places. I have been a Chef for 30 years and have always tried to give my customer the best I could offer. Looking back on the Delis in New York I don't think I even came close. The Deli's talked about in this post are the best of the best. After seeing Ellen's pictures and Billyboys trip report on the $15 Roast Beef sand I now know a Roadfood trip is necessary. These places are a dyeing breed and I for one have missed them over the years. I just need to figure out where to start the trip and end it. It's great to see the passion and dedication you all show in Deli food.
  Ellen, isn't Chicken liver pate a must in these places ?????   Earth is Washington and Oregon, Just a part of earth no Deli's in my area. ..........Bill

kenny and zukes in Portland is supposed to be pretty god.

Davydd
Sirloin
  • Total Posts : 6430
Re:PASTRAMI in PHILLY!! And my "MEAT-up" with DAVID SAX !! "Save the Deli", he says !! 2009/11/10 10:21:56 (permalink)
wanderingjew

joerogo

wanderingjew

joerogo

ellen4641

BillyB

Hi Ellen, Nice to see a woman talk about Pastrami like a guy talks about a Football game.

Hi BillyB ! So NOW we've got a BILLYB, to go along with our BILLYBOY (see post above this one from BillyBOY, another great Billy.
Had the pleasure of "MEAT-ing" up with Billyboy in NYC for brisket and ribs from the Hill Country BBQ...
and hopefully I can patronize YOUR cafe, BILLYB, wherever on EARTH it is located, lol !