The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

Pacific Coast Highway San Francisco to San Diego

dunnandj

• Total Posts: 2
Pacific Coast Highway San Francisco to San Diego Tue, 03/23/10 5:58 PM (permalink)
My nephew and I are taking a great American Road trip at the end of May.  We're driving the Pacific Coast Highway south, from Santa Cruz to San Diego.
The Roadfood recommendations on the map available to insiders are kinda sparse over long stretches of that drive. 
I'd be interested in anyone's recommendations along that route.  As one of the most celebrated roads in America, I think your recommendations might help many others.
Thanks.

Ralph Melton

Re:Pacific Coast Highway San Francisco to San Diego Tue, 03/23/10 6:32 PM (permalink)
    I am not an expert on this drive, but I've had one great meal on that route.

Several years ago, we took a drive down that highway from Santa Cruz to Monterey, to go to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. (We made it there just in time to feed the sea otters.)

Afterwards, we ate at Archie's American Diner. (Google tells me the address is 125 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3061)

The reviews Google finds seem mixed, so it may not be consistently as good as I remember it.
    <message edited by Ralph Melton on Tue, 03/23/10 6:33 PM>

dunnandj

Re:Pacific Coast Highway San Francisco to San Diego Wed, 03/24/10 8:00 AM (permalink)
      Thanks for the feedback.
      I've been to Pittsburgh a few times.  Nice folks, like yourself.
      Go Steelers.

Foodosaurus

Re:Pacific Coast Highway San Francisco to San Diego Wed, 03/24/10 8:28 AM (permalink)

The only time I made that drive was the summer before my 11th birthday.  But I think that was when I became a foodie.