The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

Parker's in Greenville NC?

Charlottean

• Total Posts: 4
Parker's in Greenville NC? Wed, 09/24/03 1:01 PM (permalink)
Parker's BBQ in Wilson is always mentioned----does Parker's in Greenville still exist? I graduated several years ago from ECU and used to enjoy eating there. Since I haven't seen it mentioned, I wonder if it has gone downhill in quality. Somebody update me quickly because we are heading to eastern NC tomorrow(9/25)! Gotta have that BBQ fix!

mobley

• Total Posts: 31
    RE: Parker's in Greenville NC? Wed, 09/24/03 1:21 PM (permalink)
    The last time I was in G-ville, Parker's was still going...BUT why bother? A scant 10 miles up Hwy 11 in Ayden, sits the grand shrine of all BBQ joints...Pete's Skylight! Not to mention B's down the road in Greenville. The above mentioned cook with WOOD not gas. It ain't BBQ if it ain't wood smoked!

Hillbilly

• Total Posts: 992
      RE: Parker's in Greenville NC? Wed, 09/24/03 5:05 PM (permalink)
      I'm with Mobley. Skylight and Wilber's (on Goldsboro by-pass) both cook with wood embers and are much better than Parker's. BUT--as close as Charlotte is to Lexington and Shelby, you can get the best BBQ in the state at Lexington # 1 in Lexington and 2nd best at Bridges BBQ lodge in Shelby. No need to go down east unless you just hanker for the bitters in that vinegar sauce and want to eat just any part of the pig instead of the prime cuts that western NC style uses.

JimInKy

• Total Posts: 599
        RE: Parker's in Greenville NC? Sun, 12/28/03 1:25 AM (permalink)
        The Greenville Parker's on S. Memorial Drive is still open.