Peanut soup

Author
mr chips
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 4727
2005/09/03 01:07:55 (permalink)

Peanut soup

One of the best soups I ever had was peanut soup at the restaurant at Mt. Vernon(George Washington"s house not the town) Can anyone tell me more about this soup? Is it a common dish in the south? Where is it found? Thanks to anyone who can give input.

8 Replies Related Threads

mayor al
    Fire Safety Admin
    • Total Posts : 15229
    RE: Peanut soup 2005/09/03 01:41:51 (permalink)

I am no expert at Peanut Soup demographics, but the only area I have ever seen it served is the Tidewater Virginia area. We enjoyed our first experience with it at the Williamsburg Inn several years ago. I expected to find it in Georgia when we started making trips down to Savannah and the Gulf Coast, but I don't recall seeing it on the menus there.
    Sundancer7
    Fire Safety Admin
    • Total Posts : 13480
    RE: Peanut soup 2005/09/03 12:14:27 (permalink)
    I thought you might be interested in prior discussions.

Al is correct as it seems to be a Virginia thing.

Attached is our prior post.

http://www.roadfood.com/Forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=949&SearchTerms=peanut,soup

Paul E. Smith
    Knoxville, TN
    mr chips
    Filet Mignon
    • Total Posts : 4727
    RE: Peanut soup 2005/09/04 10:45:36 (permalink)
    Thank you, Sundancer. One of these days i will learn to use the search function a little better.
    Mark in Ohio
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 181
    RE: Peanut soup 2005/09/04 11:59:47 (permalink)

At the risk of being regarded as chronically flippant, let me say this topic reminded me of the song about peanuts we sang in 4th grade which was buried in my memory until now: "Peas. peas, peas, peas, eating goober peas; goodness how delicious, eating goober peas!" We were told it was a song sang by southern soldiers on the march during [The War Between The States] who were reduced to eating peanuts but managed to keep a sense of humor...