Pennsylvania Snails

Author
abcdebbie
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 1
2003/10/16 20:48:50 (permalink)

Pennsylvania Snails

Hello, I'm a newbie. I found this site quite by accident when searching for a recipe. It looks like a lot of fun. I'm hoping someone out there can help me. My husband was on a business trip in the Somerset, Pennsylvania area. He brought home a great treat called snails. It looks to be a nut roll made of pie dough instead of sweet bread dough. Does anyone out there have a receipe for this treat? They were delicious!
Debbie

3 Replies Related Threads

retired & glad
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 32
    RE: Pennsylvania Snails 2003/10/29 23:32:07 (permalink)
    Hi Debbie,

It has taken some time but I think I found a receipe to bake what you are looking for. It is in an old [1969] Time-Life Illustrated Library of Cooking Vol 7 Pages 22 & 23. According as to how I read it, page 22 has a recipe for Danish Pastry Dough [Wienerbrod] which is prepared first, and then page 23 has a recipe for the actual Snails[Snegle], which utilizes 1/4 of the recipe for Weinerbrod dough as an ingredient. The Snails [from the method described] appear to be a kinda fan shaped roll with a couple of slits in the top. Made somewhat like a cinnamon roll and filled with nuts and currents. I am sure the bakery probably added some sort of a glaze on top. If this sounds right I will scan the two pages in my computer and attach them to an email sent wherever you wish. There is too much presented here to type it in by hand. Please advise your interest?

David Skaggs [like Ricky, only he can sing]
    retired & glad
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 32
    RE: Pennsylvania Snails 2003/10/30 05:41:14 (permalink)
    Debbie,