Roadfood south of Boston ?

Author
bbqeater
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 6
2003/07/10 16:38:13 (permalink)

Roadfood south of Boston ?

Any suggestions for the area between Cape Cod and Quincy?

Anything from clamshacks to hot dog stands will do.

2 Replies Related Threads

jgleduc
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 145
    RE: Roadfood south of Boston ? 2003/07/10 22:13:20 (permalink)
    quote:
    Any suggestions for the area between Cape Cod and Quincy?

This is a tough one, at least for me - the South Shore doesn't get nearly as much attention as elsewhere in Eastern Mass. I presume you are looking for something more-or-less directly en route? Then a few suggestions:

The Hingham Lobster Pound, on Rt. 3A in Hingham, is a popular seafood destination and generally quite good. I've had limited experience with this place, but it has a definite following. All the usual fare you'd expect of a clam shack is available.

Along the historic waterfront in Plymouth, right by (the overpriced) Plymouth Plantations, there are a number of small establishments serving ice cream, fried seafood, sandwiches, etc. I can't say any of them in particular stick in my mind, though everything I can recall getting along this stretch has been acceptable at least. Mostly it's just a real nice place to have a snack and wander around a bit if the weather is good, see the Rock and so forth. Someone with greater knowledge perhaps could be more specific in recomendations. One thing I do like to pick up here for later consumption is cranberry curd, which is available in a number of the shops.