The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Simple Rewards program w/ Ratings & Reviews

joel@grubgrabr

• Total Posts: 1
Simple Rewards program w/ Ratings & Reviews Sun, 11/3/13 11:01 PM (permalink)
I'm a software/web developer who has noticed that most loyalty programs suck because:
a) They require me to carry around a card, be it a credit-card type or a business card with holes punched in it.  I don't like to clutter up my wallet with stuff like this.  We all carry around smartphones in our pockets all day that perfectly fit that use-case.  And if you don't, you probably still manage to find yourself in front of a browser fairly often.

b) Or they depend on me texting something, which means giving my phone number away to who knows who.  I don't like that, or all the spammy texts/calls you receive because of it.  Seems like everyone says "we don't sell your info," but apparently someone is because inevitably it always finds its way into someone's hands who shouldn't be contacting me.

Working in an office, I eat out all the time for lunch and I would love to use rewards programs for the various places I frequent if it was more convenient.  So as a side project, I built the thing I felt would work well.  In addition to loyalty rewards, it seemed a very natural progression to include a customer feedback feature as well.

But, I'm not in the restaurant business so I could be way off on how it needs to work on your end.  If anyone's interested in checking it out, please visit  and click the "I Manage a Restaurant" link.