Social Media Presence

Author
DawnT
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1286
2012/06/20 15:03:34 (permalink)

Social Media Presence

Nowadays it seems as everyone has a Twitter account and Facebook page. Self promotion and sharing details of your daily life, family, and relationship status appears to be the norm rather then the exception. People, even my age are surprised that I don't have at least Facebook account or have no interest in following their social media. 

I sometimes wonder about all of this self disclosure. Maybe being raised at a time when families stressed keeping family secrets of what happens within the home and family life, stays within those boundaries. While that was respected in my generation when I was a student, my daughters refusal to discuss home and family life with teachers or guidance counselors presented some problems. That was a boundary that I brought my kids up with like I was. It wasn't anything sinister or suspicious, it was just nobody's business what we/I did for a living or anything else for that matter. Some of this was a previous generation's paranoia that was drilled into me. For example, it was constantly drilled into me as a kid not to brag that we just bought a color TV, never put out boxes that indicated we just bought something expensive, and so on. My parents and grandparents grew up in a time that by advertising you had or acquired material goods potentially could set you up for a break in or give an impression of sudden wealth. Many of you probably grew up the same way. It was probably unnecessary in our day unlike our parents, but it was prudent.