The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

Sweet Turkey Brine

angelfood

• Total Posts: 204
Sweet Turkey Brine Mon, 12/15/03 5:52 PM (permalink)
What do you think would happen if I changed the amounts in a turkey brine so that the amounts of salt and sugar would be reversed? I'd like to try it, but don't want to ruin my Christmas bird. Also, If I did that, then stuffed the bird, then wrapped it in bacon?

angelfood

RE: Sweet Turkey Brine Mon, 12/15/03 6:47 PM (permalink)
    I'm a newbie, and I'm serious about the question. Just to let you know... .

Bushie

• Total Posts: 2902
      RE: Sweet Turkey Brine Tue, 12/16/03 1:37 PM (permalink)
      glsup2003, sorry no one has answered you. I'm not an experienced briner, but I've read on the subject, so here's what I would offer:

The primary purpose of brining is to help the turkey absorb and retain moisture. The salt is a main catalyst in this process, so I would not cut down on the recommended amount of salt. Adding other flavors, including sugar, is fine, but keep the salt.

As for stuffing, the current thoughts are that it's better to cook the "stuffing" separate, and to just put chunks of onion, apple, lemon, celery, etc. in the cavity when you cook.

As for the bacon wrap, I think you'd want to brown the skin before covering in bacon, and remove the bacon before the final finishing.

These are my "semi-educated" guesses, so hopefully we'll get some of the better cooks on the site to chime in.

Good luck, and let us know how things turn out.

Grampy

• Total Posts: 1559
        RE: Sweet Turkey Brine Tue, 12/16/03 2:26 PM (permalink)