"The Ballpark Dog Diet" Book

Author
marknewman
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 2
2004/09/21 22:12:09 (permalink)

"The Ballpark Dog Diet" Book

Greetings. I am a writer with MLB.com and am researching a book for 2005 (hopefully) that celebrates the hot dog's place in baseball in a big way. Thirty million ballpark dogs will be consumed in the Majors next season, and the Dodger Dog leads the way in terms of season sales (it even has its own bobblehead doll). I wrote a <a href=" http://mlb.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/news/mlb_news.jsp?ymd=20040831&content_id=843024&vkey=news_mlb&fext=.jsp">"Ode to the Hot Dog"</a> story on our site recently that drew so many emails with great baseball memories and opinions about the best dogs that I decided this has to be a book.

I just joined this forum with the sole purpose of learning more about your thoughts on Ballpark Dogs and I hope you will feel free to email me at mark.newman@mlb.com with your thoughts about any of the following subjects. I may be interested in including you in the book, which is tentative in proposal stage at the moment.

For "ballpark dogs", I am including everything from a Fenway Frank to a Chicago-style dog at Wrigley to the 20 different varieties at Turner Field to brats like the ones I eat at Busch Stadium in St. Louis and the legendary sausages of Milwaukee.

1. Why do hot dogs taste best at a ballpark? Is it simply because of the rite of passage -- father bought you one there, his father bought him one there, and so on? What exactly is it?

2. Which stadiums have the best dogs and why?

3. (most important to me) What special memories does the ballpark dog evoke for you? Maybe it was the first time your dad took you to a big-league game. Maybe you remember details about the game, the setting, who won, favorite player, etc.