Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

The Best Pizza You Ever Ate!

Change Page: < 12345 > | Showing page 4 of 5, messages 91 to 120 of 137
jwagnerdsm

• Total Posts: 89
RE: The Best Pizza You Ever Ate! Sat, 02/17/07 7:44 PM (permalink)
In rural Iowa, at different parts of my life, I loved:

1.) In grade school: Shakey's Pizza Parlor in Sioux Falls (Ad Jingle: "We Serve Fun at Shakeys, also Pizza." Probably more truth in that than I knew).

2.) In high school, with my friends: Godfather's at the then new mall in Worthington, Minnesota, a 16-mile drive to the only multi-plex in the area, the only McDonald's, and the only pizza.

3.) Babe's, in downtown Des Moines, when I was a sophomore and high school and took my first real trip to Des Moines with members of the high school speech and drama club.

4.) Pizza Ranch in downtown Sheldon, Iowa, a place I dined every day during lunch while working my first full-time newspaper job.

5.) Big Tomato Pizza, Des Moines, today (open til 4 a.m. on weekends with a variety of interesting slices for $2.)I like the potato and onion ring pizza.

6.) La Pizza House, S.E. 14th, in Des Moines, as much for their onion rings as their pizza.

couple_seeking_food

• Total Posts: 2
    RE: The Best Pizza You Ever Ate! Sat, 02/17/07 8:45 PM (permalink)
    I spent 12 years in New Haven from 1977 to 1989 and found what others have said, there are many terrific pizzas there. My all time favorites are #1 Sally's White Clam and #2 Pepe's White Clam. Moderna Appiza is much quicker to get into and the pies are excellent, but if you have to choose one, crank up your patience, wait the line, and eat at Sally's.

LaPoint

• Total Posts: 5
      RE: The Best Pizza You Ever Ate! Sun, 02/18/07 11:22 PM (permalink)